Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
According to the law in the state of Oklahoma, you are required to establish financial responsibility for your automobile. Usually, drivers establish responsibility by purchasing liability insurance coverage.
Oklahoma Auto Insurance Requirements for Drivers
The minimum amounts of liability coverage allowed in Oklahoma are:
- Property damage - $25,000
- Death or injury of one person - $25,000
- Death or injury of two or more people - $50,000
While these are the minimum requirements, you can protect yourself by purchasing additional auto insurance in Oklahoma.
Before you choose a carrier, you need to compare Oklahoma auto insurance quotes from numerous insurance companies. You can make these comparisons online with the help of Moon Baker Agency Inc. Taking the time to do this allows you to find a policy that best meets your needs.
Once you decide on your carrier, you will receive an insurance identification card. You must carry this card with you whenever you drive.
Driving Without Insurance Coverage or Proof of Insurance Coverage
If you choose to drive without at least the minimum insurance requirements in the state of Oklahoma or fail to show proof of insurance to a public safety representative or police officer upon his request, you could:
- Receive a fine of up to $250.
- Be sentenced to 30 days in jail.
- Have both your car registration and driver’s license suspended.
Oklahoma is a Tort State
Because Oklahoma is one of the 38 Tort states, the person who is at fault for causing the car crash is responsible for paying the damages incurred by the other individuals involved in the crash. For this reason, Oklahoma does not require drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Whether you reside in Davis, Sulphur or Ada, Oklahoma, Moon Baker Agency Inc is an independent agency that can help you compare Oklahoma auto insurance quotes from top car insurance carriers. We can help you find the policy that best suits your needs.